Well, I’ve got everything unpacked and am functionally settled in here in Texas. I have a TX driver’s license, a car registered in Texas, a toll tag, and an Irving library card; I’m registered for classes and registered to vote. My books are ordered, classes start Thursday, and I’m starting to rely less on GPS to get around. Seems like as good a time as any to share some pictures of my new abode.

IMAG0003IMAG0004

Here is the front of my new house. There is a lovely covered porch and a large mailbox.

IMAG0005

This is the view as you stand inside the front door. To your right is the doorway to the living room, ahead is the kitchen, and if you turned left just before the kitchen you would be looking down the hallway.

IMAG0008 IMAG0007 IMAG0006

This the the living room, looking around at the room from the left of the doorway to the right. Therese (one of my roommates, and the one who owns the house) still has some maps she wants to hang above the futon. That faint writing on the wall behind my couch is a passage out of Marilynne Robinson’s Housekeeping. 

IMAG0011 IMAG0010 IMAG0009

Here’s the kitchen, again looking around from the left of the doorway to the right. It’s huge, and really is sort of functionally divided into three areas. There is a dishwasher (hallelujah!) and lots of storage. If you look closely, you can see a cage sitting to the left of the fireplace – that is the home of Vesper, a very cute and very timid little hedgehog.

If you turn down that hallway I mentioned earlier, go all the way down and turn left where it makes a little ‘L’ shape, my bedroom is on your right. It’s a corner bedroom, with windows on each wall – beautifully sunny.

IMAG0012           IMAG0014

This is the view from the hallway looking in. My bedroom has an entryway.

If you go around this room counterclockwise (backwards from how I did the other rooms, I know), then once you have come into the room you would see the wall that has my closet:

IMAG0015 IMAG0016

I opted for a bookshelf with boxes instead of a dresser, and I was really glad I did because I needed all the space I could find for my books.

IMAG0017

Continuing around, there’s the wall with my bed and photos of the Palouse. I splurged at IKEA and opted for a duvet instead of a sheet+comforter setup. Still figuring out how much I like that in the heat, but it’s nice not to worry about the sheets falling off anymore.

IMAG0018

Looking toward the other window.

IMAG0020

This is the real pièce de résistance. Desk, books, office supplies, the whole shebang. I can sit here and feel like a real student.

IMAG0021

And for a final touch, behind the door you can see my bulletin board and mirror (under the light switch are my Playbill signed by Arthur Darvill and my Incredible Edible tour poster signed by Alton Brown).

Leave a Reply

