Sneaky Disney

I watched Disney’s “Bolt” at a friend’s house this weekend, and was struck by some very sneaky work in the opening credits (no, not hiding obscenities in the animation). Take a look:

http://www.youtube-nocookie.com/v/VGWApmVy1dM&hl=en&fs=1&rel=0

Notice anything? Yep, that *was* Steamboat Willie as the LOGO for “Walt Disney Animation Studios.” (now a division of the Walt Disney Company, created after restructuring in ’07). Now, I’m not a lawyer and I certainly don’t have specialized knowledge in copyright issues, but this seems to open the way for Disney to trademark Steamboat Willie instead of relying on copyright protections.
One thought on “Sneaky Disney

  1. Hey, I randomly found your blog today and I'm glad that I did. Very interesting stuff. I'm a conservative blogger and seminary student in Chicago (rjmoeller.com). Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

